

Diocese of Des Moines Fact Sheet

Who: About 108,581 registered Catholics and an estimated 40,000 Hispanics not registered within a total population of 876,785.

- 88 diocesan priests, 53 active within the diocese
- 106 permanent deacons, 54 in active ministry
- 9 sisters serving in professional ministry

Location: In the 23 counties of central and southwest Iowa (southwest quadrant of the state).

- 80 parishes
- 17 schools
- 4 Catholic hospitals

Background

The Diocese of Des Moines was established Aug. 12, 1911. The following bishops have served the diocese:

1911-1911 Bishop Austin Dowling
1919-1933 Bishop Thomas W. Drumm
1934-1948 Bishop Gerald T. Bergan
1948-1964 Bishop Edward C. Daly, O.P.
1965-1967 Bishop George J. Biskup
1968-1986 Bishop Maurice J. Dingman
1987-1993 Bishop William H. Bullock
1994-2007 Bishop Joseph L. Charron, C.PP.S.
2008-2019 Bishop Richard E. Pates

-0-